Locating Various Types of Sources
Researchers can use the Taft College A-Z Database page to select databases (electronic resources) that meet specific parameters. Use the "All Database Types" drop down menu to select databases that are primarily images, newspapers, primary sources, or other types of sources.
- American Memory
From the Library of Congress. Browse by topic area (e.g. slave narratives) or time period (e.g. 1400-1699). Documents include maps, books, archival manuscripts, and more. - Metropolitan Museum of Art Costume InstituteResearchers can search the holdings of The Costume Institute Collection to access images and information regarding these objects.
- Newseum Digital Classroom: Women, Their Rights and Nothing LessRegistration is required for this resource, which is free. Find other research materials by using the search box at newseum.org.
- PBS VideoProvides access to selected programs from selected PBS series (such as Nature, American Experience, Nova, and Frontline, among others.) Users can browse by Programs, Topics, or Collections. Individual programs are subdivided into smaller segments.
- USA.gov/statisticsThis page includes links to data and statistics from the United States government; also includes links to maps and mapping products.
- American Factfinder (U.S. Census Bereau)The main search interface for population, housing, economic, and geographic data. Select desired elements to create data tables for any city, zip code, county, or state in the United States.
See the subject areas "Government," "Criminal Justice," and "Political Science" for library databases on the A-Z Databases page related to legal and governmental research.