Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

DNTL 2244 - C. Adriano: Part 2: Research Article Analysis

A library guide for resources relevant to Community Oral Health II.

What is primary research?

Primary research literature is a study or experiment conducted in order to answer a problem within a field of study. For example, if researchers wanted to know how to help children who suffer from bruxism, they would conduct a study or experiment where they would evaluate how patients with bruxism respond to a form of treatment.

Where do I find primary research?

Experts publish their findings from studies and experiments in scholarly journals that are peer-reviewed. You can locate these articles in databases that are available to you 24/7 from any device with an internet connection.

There are several databases available that may have full-text articles available on your topic. The most efficient way to find articles is to search in multiple databases at once. Follows these steps:

On the library's homepage click on A - Z Database link

From the list of 32 databases, select All EBSCOhost databases

Click the box to the left of these three databases;

  • Academic Search Complete
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
  • MEDLINE

Locating Journal Articles

Add the search terms to the boxes. Start with the main topic and add one or two additional keywords to narrow the results. If you do not get good results, try different keywords to determine the best search terms.

Make sure to limit the results to Full Text. You can also limit to scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals.

Review the results. Choose an article that meets the assignment requirement. Below is an example of articles that do and do not meet the criteria