Finding Books in OneSearch
Search the library catalog for print and online books. Type your keywords into the search box, for example James Joyce AND religion. Limit to the type of source you want by choosing the appropriate box from the options to the left of your search results.
Check out these tutorials on using the library's catalog:
Below are suggestions of books in the library you may find helpful with your research.
Joyce: The Return o the Repressed by Publication Date: 1993-06-16This volume reads the dialogue of contradictory cultural voices in Joyce's works--revolutionary and reactionary, critical and subject to critique, marginal and central. It includes ten essays that identify repressed elements in Joyce's writings and examine how psychic and cultural repressions persistently surface in his texts.
See Part II: Repression and the Return of Cultural History: Dubliners and Portrait
Reading Joyce Politically by Williams shows how in Joyce the paralysis is always provisional, and explores the ways in which Joyce's characters do indeed demonstrate means of resistance to the British state, to class distinctions, to clerical hegemony, and to power imbalances in familial and sexual relationships
Gender in Joyce by This collection should be of interest not only to Joyceans but to those with an interest in gender and cultural studies. See Chapter 5.
Narcissistic Mothers in Modernist Literature by Instead of focusing on the mother-child dyad as characterized primarily by maternal domination and the child' s submission, Marie Géraldine Rademacher insists on the definitional nuances of the term »narcissism« and considers the political and socio-economic context of the time in shaping these women's narcissistic behavior.
The Strong Spirit: History, Politics and Aesthetics in the Writings of James Joyce 1898-1915 by Through Dubliners, Stephen Hero, the `Triestine Writings' and A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man to Exiles, Joyce responds to his predicament by examining recent Irish history and the place of the intellectual and artist within it in a variety of extremely subtle and complex or, in Joycean terms, `labyrinthine' forms of writing.
Joyce and the Victorians by Joyce and the Victorians excavates the heretofore largely unexplored territory of the late Victorian and Edwardian cultural contexts of Dubliners, Portrait, Ulysses, and Finnegans Wake.
Finding Articles in Databases
Search for articles from periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals) in the following databases. From off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your Cougar Tracks username and password.
The following databases include scholarly sources (as well as other types of sources).
Check out these tutorials on using library databases:
What is a database, and how do I use it?
- Literature Resource CenterLiterature Resource Center offers up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
- Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- Academic OneFileA source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles that covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, literature, and many other subjects
- JSTORJSTOR contains the full-text of more than 2,300 journals from 1,000 publishers, with publication dates ranging from 1665 to 2015 (for certain titles). Journals are available in more than 60 disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences and mathematics.