Background Information
When conducting research, it is helpful to know as much as possible about the topic as possible. An excellent place to gather such information is in subject encyclopedias. A subject encyclopedia will provide what is already know about the topic in detail, explaining exactly what the topic is about, who is involved, where it takes place, when it began, why it is a controversy and how it impacts other issues. Once you have a handle on the facts of the topic, you can narrow it down to an aspect you care enough about to investigate it with an open mind. Below are some suggested topics:
Topics:
Choose to focus on one of these broad topics and narrow to a specific interest within that topic
- Abortion
- Minimum wage
- Gun Control / Gun Policy
- Campaign Finance Reform
- Voting Rights / Reform
- Citizens United
- Wealth Inequality
- Funding the EPA
- Oil Spills
- Covid-19
- Health Care Reform
- Homelessness
Develop a Research Question
Developing a research question is a process. You will not know your research question until you have done some preliminary research. You must find sources that discuss your ideas. As you learn more about your topic, your question will materialize and take shape. It will also change and shift. This is perfectly normal! Consider using the 5 Ws to help you narrow your topic and develop a research question.
Use the 5 Ws to narrow your topic
The Five W criteria can add context to your investigation and turn a topic into a research question.
- WHO describes an individual or select population you are investigating.
- WHAT describes a specific aspect or element that directly impacts the WHO.
- WHEN is a time frame in which you might limit your investigation
- WHERE is a geographical location where you might focus.
- WHY is the reason why this investigation is important or meaningful. The WHY is not necessarily a part of the final research question but more informative of the scope of the project in general.
Library Resources
Below are library resources that will provide you with background information as well as give you some insight to some of the broad topics listed.
Encyclopedia of American Government and Civics, Second Edition by Articles herein address not only basic subjects covered in the study of American government -- from the Bill of Rights through voting processes--but also a wide range of contemporary issues such as abortion, capital punishment, and Social Security.
The Gun Debate: An Encyclopedia of Gun Rights & Gun Control in the US by With public debate of gun violence at an all-time high, this new third edition of The Gun Debate: An Encyclopedia of Gun Control & Gun Rights is a must-have resource for all libraries. Over 350 entries provide in-depth coverage of both sides of the gun debate. Updated and expanded coverage includes new entries on recent gun laws and legislation, coverage of mass shootings and gun incidents, plus new information from the groups who support gun rights, and those who support gun control in the United States.
Encyclopedia of American Political Parties and Elections by This new volume contains all the material a reader needs to understand the American election process and its political parties. This complete A-to-Z reference guide covers the people, events, and terms involved in the electoral process. It also provides the history of elections in the United States, focusing primarily on the presidential elections.
The U. S. Supreme Court by This comprehensive set provides accessible information on all the Supreme Court Justices, articles on key constitutional issues and hundreds of landmark cases, including Citizens United v. Federal Election Commission
Global Social Issues: an Encyclopedia by This landmark reference is a comprehensive, one-stop, interdisciplinary resource that examines current, critical social issues in historical and global contexts. Includes homelessness and health care.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health by "Focuses on health crises affecting the public at large, ranging from epidemic and pandemic diseases; chronic conditions such as famine, malnutrition, cancer, and diabetes; and social issues such as sexual abuse, obesity, bullying, and new substance abuse issues. Entries describe the origin and spread of the issue, public and government reaction and response, and treatments and preventive measures"--Provided by publisher. Includes entries on the EPA and oil spills.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Science by ISBN: 9780028677170Covers all major umbrellas of science, engineering, technology, mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology"-- Includes Covid-19
