Join from PC, Mac, Linux, iOS or Android: https://cccconfer.zoom.us/j/5896052854
Meeting ID: 589 605 2854
Finding Articles in Databases
As a student at Taft College, you have access to the Kern County Law Library database, LexisNexis. To access the database, enter your first and last name and Accept and Continue.
Search for articles from periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals) in the following databases. From off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your MYTC username and password.
The following databases include primary, scholarly, and popular sources (newspaper and magazine articles) that may have articles appropriate for your course.
Academic OneFile is similar to Academic Search Complete and offers unique articles not found elsewhere.
To save time, you can search all of the EBSCOhost databases at once. From the list below, choose ALL EBSCOhost databases and then choose the following databases: Academic Search Complete, APA Psycharticles, Ethnic Diversity Source, Psychology and Behavioral Science, and Military & Government Collection.
For more help with databases, check out What is a database and how do I use it? and Database Tutorials
- Academic OneFileA source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles that covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, literature, and many other subjects
- Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- ALL EBSCOhost databasesThis link allows you to search multiple EBSCOhost databases at one time.
- Ethnic Diversity SourceWith its curated full-text materials, Ethnic Diversity Source is essential to support the study of African Americans, Arab Americans, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans, Latinx Americans, Multiracial Americans, and Native Americans, among others, with respect to their cultures, traditions, social treatment, and lived experiences. Scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, historical documents, and biographies are complemented by primary sources, such as speeches and interviews. Complete with robust collections of videos and e-books, Ethnic Diversity Source creates a dynamic research experience for students and researchers.
- LexisNexisAccess to this database is provided by Kern County Law Library. Enter your first and last name on the initial landing page and Accept & Continue to access legal sources.
- Military & Government CollectionDesigned to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.