Background Information
When conducting research, we often discover that we do not know or understand all there is to know about a topic. We think we know, but then we discover there is another perspective or point of view that we had not considered. That is why reading background information can be helpful: It will help you understand the topic and help you focus on one aspect of the topic that is of interest to you. Below is a brief tutorial on picking your topic from North Caroline State University.
Topics & Background
When choosing a topic, think about how the concepts of race and ethnicity are viewed in your world.
Broad topics to consider are:
- Immigration
- Citizenship
- Colorism
- White Privilege
- Education
- Income / Labor market
- Housing
- Criminal Justice System
- Health Care
Next, consider how those concepts are reflected in society: Focus on what you see as an example of the concept. Use your sources to support your thesis your ideas.
Develop a Research Question
Developing a research question is a process. You will not know your research question until you have done some preliminary research. You must find sources that discuss your ideas. As you learn more about your topic, your question will materialize and take shape. It will also change and shift. This is perfectly normal! Consider using the 5 Ws to help you narrow your topic and develop a research question.
Use the 5 Ws to narrow your topic
The Five W criteria can add context to your investigation and turn a topic into a research question.
- WHO describes an individual or select population you are investigating.
- WHAT describes a specific aspect or element that directly impacts the WHO.
- WHEN is a time frame in which you might limit your investigation
- WHERE is a geographical location where you might focus.
- WHY is the reason why this investigation is important or meaningful. The WHY is not necessarily a part of the final research question but more informative of the scope of the project in general.
Background Sources
Encyclopedia of American Immigration by The goal of the set is to address all questions about immigration that students might reasonably be expected to ask: Where immigrants have come from and why; how they have adapted to their new homeland; how they have contributed to American culture and society; how government policies toward them have changed; practical issues of legal and social integration; and how American immigration history has fit into worldwide migration patterns.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by The Encyclopedia Of Race And Racism provides critical information and context on the underlying social, economic, geographical, and political conditions that gave rise to, and continue to foster, racism. Religion, political economy, social activism, health, concepts, and constructs are explored.
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Education by In the study of multicultural education, there are key names, places, concepts, and legal actions which provide a foundation for the field. These persons exemplify the achievements and diversity of America's many cultures and are often discussed within a multicultural curriculum.
African Americans and Criminal Justice: An Encyclopedia by Call Number: REF HV 9950 .A356 2014This encyclopedia comprises descriptive essays documenting the ways in which people of African descent have been victimized by oppressive laws enacted by local, state, and federal authorities in the United States.
Latinos and Criminal Justice: An Encyclopedia by Call Number: REF HV 6791 .L38 2016Latinos and Criminal Justice: An Encyclopedia promotes understanding of Latinas and Latinos and the U.S. criminal justice system, at the same time dispelling popular misconceptions about this population and criminal activity in the United States.
People of Color in the United States: Contemporary Issues in Education, Work, Communities, Health, and Immigration. by Call Number: REF E 184 .A1 P384 2016This expansive, four-volume ready-reference work offers critical coverage of contemporary issues that impact people of color in the United States, ranging from education and employment to health and wellness and immigration.
