Choosing a topic
Picking a topic is research! Topics start very broad and then need to be narrowed down to a manageable size. For example, the broad topic for this assignment could be Greek civilization; however, there are hundreds of books, articles, and films about Greek civilizations. Choose an event, period or era within this broad topic to focus your research on. For example, choose the Bronze Age or the Dark Ages, Archaic Period or Classical Period, the Peloponnesian War or the Hellenistic Period. Then locate resources that are about that specific period. You can also choose to focus on gender or race, person or place, activity or movement. Try a variety of topics and see what kind of results you get. If you get very few results, change the topic and try again.
Check out this brief tutorial from North Carolina State University
Topics
Here are some suggested topics
- Afterlife
- Agriculture
- Architecture
- Cities / States
- Civilization
- Crusades
- Culture
- Dynasties
- Empires
- Food
- Identity
- Language
- Painting / art / sculpture
- Peoples
- Philosophy
- Religion
- War and Conflict
Background Sources
Background sources include subject encyclopedias and books that provide facts that are known and accepted by experts. These sources are helpful in identifying topics and narrowing them down to a specific event, time, or group of people. They can also help you discover keywords for further searching. Below are recommendations for background information.
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture by Call Number: REF GT 2850 .E53 2003This 3-volume set presents 600 articles on food and its place in human culture and society, covering everything from agronomy to zucchini. Students, academics and general researchers will find entries on everything from food preparation, distribution and storage to holidays and festivals, nutrition and health, and cultures and cuisines.
Encyclopedia of World Trade: from Ancient Times to the Present by Trade has defined relationships between cultures and countries from prehistoric times to the present. From the caravans of the ancient world, to the search for new trade routes during the age of discovery, to the development of interconnected markets and the global economy, trade has been a defining force in world history.
Encyclopedia of the History of Classical Archaeology by It focuses on Greek and Roman material, but also covers the prehistoric and semi-historical cultures of the Bronze Age Aegean, the Etruscans, and manifestations of Greek and Roman culture in Europe and Asia Minor.
Mummies Around the World: An Encyclopedia of Mummies in history, Religion, and Popular Culture by Call Number: REF GN 293 .M655 2015Civilizations from all over the world have practiced mummification as a means of preserving life after death--a ritual which captures the imagination of scientists, artists, and laypeople alike. This comprehensive encyclopedia focuses on all aspects of mummies: their ancient and modern history; their scientific study; their occurrence around the world; the religious and cultural beliefs surrounding them; and their roles in literary and cinematic entertainment.
Encyclopedia of Invasions and Conquests: from Ancient Times to the Present by Publication Date: 1998-08-17The Encyclopedia of Invasions and Conquests, a comprehensive guide to 192 invasions, conquests, battles, occupations, and military leaders from ancient times to the present, takes readers on a journey that includes the Roman conquest of Britain, the Portuguese colonization of Brazil, and the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait.
Encyclopedia of India by The Encyclopedia of India encompasses the history, cultures, geography, and religions of India from ancient times to the present day.
The Encyclopedia of Empire by The Encyclopedia of Empire provides exceptional in-depth, comparative coverage of empires throughout human history and across the globe.
Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World by Spanning more than 2,000 years, from the beginning of Minoan civilization in the third millennium BCE to the Roman annexation of mainland Greece in 146 BCE, Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World, Third Edition provides a comprehensive survey of the classical Greek world.
Encyclopedia of Islam by In more than 550 A-to-Z entries, this encyclopedic guide explores the terms, concepts, personalities, historical events, and institutions that helped shape the history of this religion and the way it is practiced today.
Encyclopedia of African History 3-Volume Set by Covering the entire continent from Morocco, Libya, and Egypt in the north to the Cape of Good Hope in the south, and the surrounding islands from Cape Verde in the west to Madagascar, Mauritius, and Seychelles in the east, the Encyclopedia of African History is a new A-Z reference resource on the history of the entire African continent. With entries ranging from the earliest evolution of human beings in Africa to the beginning of the twenty-first century, this comprehensive three volume Encyclopedia is the first reference of this scale and scope.
