Identify a Topic
Finding a research topic that is interesting, relevant, feasible, and worthy of your time may take a lot of time and effort. Remember that as you are searching for a research topic, you will need to be able to find enough information about your topic(s) in a book or scholarly journal. If you can only find information about your topic(s) in current event sources (newspapers, magazines, etc.) then the topic might be too new to have a large body of published scholarly information. Do some background work on a couple of topics before choosing one that may not have a lot of sources.
Sample Topics
- Addiction
- ADD / ADHD
- Autism
- Blindness
- Cognitive Disorders
- Cerebral Palsy
- Deafness
- Down Syndrome
- Dyslexia
- Epilepsy
- Intellectual disabilities
- Muscular dystrophy
- Paralyzation
- Spina bifida
- Tourette syndrome
Finding background information
Library reference sources, such as encyclopedias, are a great place to find objective background information on your topic. They can also help you narrow your topic and discover keywords for further searching. A great source for background information is biographical works of the author. These sources provide cultural, political, and religious perspectives that help you understand why the author wrote the story.
You can search by author's name and/or title of the book in Literature Resource Center: it provides biographies of contemporary authors.
Disability in American Life by Call Number: REF HV 1553 .D5474 2019 v.1 & v. 2Publication Date: 2018-12-07Disability--as with other marginalized topics in social policy--is at risk for exclusion from social debate. This multivolume reference work provides an overview of challenges and opportunities for people with disabilities and their families at all stages of life.
Encyclopedia of Special Education, Volume 1 by Publication Date: 2014-01-28The only comprehensive reference devoted to special education
Encyclopedia of American Disability History by "Encyclopedia of American Disability History" is the first encyclopedia to focus on this important topic in American history. By examining the issues, events, people, activism, laws, and personal experiences and social ramifications of disability throughout U.S. history, this comprehensive three-volume reference provides a new and broader, more inclusive approach to our nation's past.
Encyclopedia of Neuropsychological Disorders H/C by This book serves as an A-Z reference that addresses the neuropsychological aspects of 300 neurological, neuropsychiatric, and neuromedical disorders.
Epilepsy A to Z: A Concise Encyclopedia by " Epilepsy A-Z is a unique compendium that provides a ""bullet"" of epilepsy-related information that is ideal for quick and easy reference. Key points are summarized with current references and applicable graphics to give the reader an immediate and direct presentation that makes Epilepsy A-Z a must-have for the busy clinician.
The Encyclopedia of Sports and Recreation for People with Visual Impairments by The Encyclopedia of Sports & Recreation for People with Visual Impairments is the first consumer- focused, action-oriented guide to this new world of accessible activity, profiling the people, programs, and products that are helping move blind and visually impaired people from the sidelines into the game. This groundbreaking guide profiles every accessible blind sport and recreation activity with entries that outline how athletes (both novice and elite) got involved in the sport and how participation has shaped their life.
