Background Information
When conducting research, it is helpful to know the history and background of topics and themes. For example, understanding the historical background of racism in politics, education, health care, etc., is necessary to understand where America is today. Subject encyclopedias are excellent sources that provide the historical roots of a problem and identify people, organizations, an efforts that are involved in resolving the conflicts and controversies. Reference sources can also help you narrow your topic and discover keywords for further searching.
Below are library reference sources that will provide you with background information on all of the possible topics. Each encyclopedia offers entries on multiple aspects of racism.
Possible Topics
Racism in education
Racism in politics
Racism and the right to vote
Founding of the Nation
Slavery
Democracy for All
Racism in the Arts: literature, theater, music, dance, entertainment
Psychology of Racism
Discrimination in mortgage practices (Redlining)
Racial Profiling / Prison Reform
Discrimination in Health Care
Segregation within communities
Capitalism
The 2nd Amendment - right to bear arms
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by The Encyclopedia Of Race And Racism, 2nd Edition, provides critical information and context on the underlying social, economic, geographical, and political conditions that gave rise to, and continue to foster, racism. Religion, political economy, social activism, health, concepts, and constructs are explored. Excellent source for most racism topics including the arts, psychology,
Race and Racism in the United States by Call Number: REF E 184 .A1 R254 2014 v. 1-4This four-volume set is the definitive source for every topic related to race in the United States. In the 21st century, it is easy for some students and readers to believe that racism is a thing of the past; in reality, old wounds have yet to heal, and new forms of racism are taking shape.
Encyclopedia of American Political Parties and Elections by This new volume contains all the material a reader needs to understand the American election process and its political parties. See chapters on African-American suffrage, voting trends; Civil Rights, Congressional Black Caucus, Racial districting.
The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History. by A comprehensive and authoritative encyclopedia of U.S. political history An essential resource for anyone interested in U.S. history and politics, this two-volume encyclopedia covers the major forces that have shaped American politics from the founding to today.
Encyclopedia of Emancipation and Abolition in the Transatlantic World by Examines every effort to end slavery in the United States and the transatlantic world. It focuses on massive, broad-based movements, as well as specific incidents, events, and developments, and pulls together in one place information previously available only in a wide variety of sources.
Encyclopedia of Free Blacks and People of Color in the Americas by When Columbus arrived in 1492, the first free black person set foot in the Americas. Over the next 400 years, as slavery spread and became entrenched in the Western Hemisphere, free blacks built communities throughout North and South America, playing a critical role in every region, colony, and country.
Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice by Call Number: REF HM1271 .E485 2015 v. 1-2Publication Date: 2014-12-18This encyclopedia is available in print and as a eBook. This encyclopedia contains over 300 entries alphabetically arranged for straightforward use by scholars and general readers alike. Thompson, assisted by a network of contributors and consultants, provides a comprehensive and systematic collection of designated entries that describe, in detail, important diversity and social justice themes
Encyclopedia of Democratic Thought by The Encyclopedia draws on every tradition of democratic thought, as well as developing new thinking, in order to provide full coverage of the key democratic concepts and engage with their practical implications for the conduct of democratic politics in the world today. In this way, it brings every kind of democratic thinking to bear on the challenges facing contemporary democracies and on the possibilities of the democratic future.
