Articles - HIST 2232 - T. Mendoza - LibGuides at Taft College

ALL EBSCOhost databases
This link allows you to search multiple EBSCOhost databases at one time.

Search for articles from periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals) in the following databases. From off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your Cougar Tracks username and password.

Check out this brief tutorial, What is a Database and how do I use it? before you start your search.

Once you have your keywords and know your topic, try the following databases which include scholarly sources (as well as other types of sources). To save time, you can search Academic Search Complete, America: History and Life with Full Text, History Reference Center, and Military and Government from the ALL EBSCOhost databases at once.

Academic OneFile and JSTOR are separate databases, but have excellent sources for topics related to this course.

Academic OneFile
A source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles that covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, literature, and many other subjects
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
ALL EBSCOhost databases
This link allows you to search multiple EBSCOhost databases at one time.
America: History and Life with Full Text
America: History & Life with Full Text is the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. America: History & Life with Full Text also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
History Reference Center
History Reference Center offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
JSTOR
JSTOR contains the full-text of more than 2,300 journals from 1,000 publishers, with publication dates ranging from 1665 to 2015 (for certain titles). Journals are available in more than 60 disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences and mathematics.
Military & Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.

HIST 2232 - T. Mendoza: Articles