Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using a combination of books and articles will provide you will a deep understanding of the chosen color and how that color is viewed from different perspectives. The databases below will have articles from experts who study the effects of color in different fields of art and science. When searching for articles, use specific keywords, such as symbolism, culture, psychology, and influence to find articles that go into depth on the psychological, social, and cultural understandings of color.
Finding Articles in Databases
Search for academic articles from magazines and journals in the following databases. Please refer to What is a Database and How do I use it? for help searching the databases.
The following databases include scholarly sources (as well as other types of sources). To save time, you can search all of the EBSCOhost databases at once. On the homepage, click on the A-Z Databases link directly below the OneSearch box. Select ALL EBSCOhost Databases from the list (4th one down), then select each of the following from the list: Academic Search Complete, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences, and PsycArticles.
The following databases include scholarly sources (as well as other types of sources).
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
A source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles that covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, literature, and many other subjects
JSTOR contains the full-text of more than 2,300 journals from 1,000 publishers, with publication dates ranging from 1665 to 2015 (for certain titles). Journals are available in more than 60 disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences and mathematics.
Grove Art Online
Grove Art Online offers access to the most authoritative, inclusive, and easily searchable online art encyclopedia as well as peer reviewed articles by authoritative scholars on artists, genres, and techniques.