Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The research paper consists of five parts:
- Historical Context
- Minimum of two scholarly articles on critical thinking
- Minimum of one book or eBook related to the topic
- Minimum of one additional scholarly source
- No internet sources
- MLA 8th edition formatting. Refer to the MLA Style guide tab in this guide.
- 1500-2000 words, 6-8 pages
- Works Cited
The paper is based on critical thinking that interests you based on course material. Some possible research ideas are:
- How literature helps us learn to think
- How critical thinking improves communication
- How good thinkers support arguments
- How weak thinking impacts arguments
- How critical thinking should be taught in school
- How critical thinking is used in your career field
Please review the following library guides for assistance with your final project
Library Research: The Process
Types of Sources
Evaluation of Sources
Books are excellent sources to gather background information and provide historical context. Below are some suggestions for books on critical thinking.
After providing background information and historical context, use scholarly articles to support your argument. Review these guides for help in accessing databases to locate scholarly articles.
Scholarly and Peer-reviewed Journals
What is a database and how do I use it?
The databases below will have scholarly, full-text articles on critical thinking. Use keywords and subject headings to locate articles specific to your topic. Remember to check the full-text box!
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
A source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles that covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, literature, and many other subjects
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.