Finding books using OneSearch
Once you have a good understanding of your topic, including who is involved, a time frame or era to focus on, where to place your topic, such as the United States or California, and why it is so important, you will want to locate books that will provide you with credible and reliable information.
Search the library catalog for print and online books using the keywords you developed and learned from your background search. Type your keywords into the box below, for example developmental disabilities AND medication.
Check out the Library Research: The Process for more help in starting your research paper.
Library Resources: eBooks
Below are library resources that will provide you with information as well as give you some insight into each author.
Down Syndrome (DS) by Publication Date: 2016DS is a very common cause of mental impairment and children with DS present with a variety of medical issues, including cardiovascular defects, endocrine problems, neurodevelopment disorders, hematological problems, gastrointestinal and sleep dysfunctions, visual and hearing impairment.This book provides new research on the perspectives, challenges and management of DS.
Common Pathogenic Mechanisms Between Down syndrome and Alzheimer's Disease by Publication Date: 2015The book covers the fundamental pathophysiology and molecular mechanisms behind the incidence of Alzheimer's disease in Down syndrome affected individuals as well other key topics such as diagnosis and management, in vivo brain imaging studies, and progressive neurodegeneration of the monoaminergic system.
Developmental Disability and Ageing by ISBN: 9781898683612Publication Date: 2009-03-09See Chapter 3: Ageing in Down syndrome
The Silent Child by Publication Date: 2012This book arose out of the need to work with emotionally regressed non-talking children who entered hospital in full retreat from the external world. It helps parents and professionals compassionately comprehend the child's difficulties in depending on someone to receive communication.
AM:STARs Asthma and Diabetes in Adolescents by Publication Date: 2010Topics in Asthma and Diabetes in Adolescent include: Part I Asthma: Update On Asthma Therapy: Making Sense Of The Guidelines For Adolescents With Asthma, The Management Of Acute Asthma Exacerbations, Asthma In Adolescents Living In The Inner City, Exercise And The Adolescent With Asthma, The Role Of Allergen Exposure And Avoidance In Asthma, Asthma Education: Pitfalls And Solutions. Part II Diabetes:ยท Type 1 Diabetes Mellitus In Adolescents, Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus In Adolescents, Other Forms of Diabetes in Adolescents, Technological Advancements in Diabetes Care, Psychological Problems In Adolescents With Diabetes.
Systematic Instruction of Functional Skills for Students and Adults with Disabilities by Publication Date: 2017This book provides an overview of systematic instructional strategies and is written in a format so that teachers and other service providers can immediately put the information to use. It specifically focuses upon systematic instruction for individuals with disabilities (school age and adults) and is generic across age groups as well as disability labels. See Chapter 9.
The Complete Guide to Creating a Special Needs Life Plan by Publication Date: 2013The purpose of special needs planning is to create the best possible life for an adult with a disability. This book provides comprehensive guidance on creating a life plan to transition a special needs child to independence or to ensure they are well cared for in the future.
Schizophrenia by Publication Date: 2014This text provides a person-centered approach to helping individuals with schizophrenia meet their personal goals.The approach is strongly influenced by the'recovery'model. This model emphasizes a respect for an individual's ability to participate in decision-making about their illness and an appreciation that people can achieve many of their personal goals even when their illness is only partially controlled.
Intellectual Disability by Publication Date: 2014The diagnosis of intellectual disability requires formal psychometric testing to assess the intelligence quotient and adaptive functioning. The management of individuals who have intellectual disability is based on providing general medical care, treatment of specific behavioral symptoms, early intervention, special education, and variable degrees of community based supports.
Finding articles in databases
Search for articles in periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals) in the following databases. From off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your Cougar Track username and password. Use the keywords you developed when determining your topic and finding background information.
The following databases include scholarly sources, videos, and newspaper articles to assist you in locating sources for this project.
You may also use articles from
- Academic OneFileA source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles that covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, literature, and many other subjects
- ALL EBSCOhost databasesFrom this link, choose multiple EBSCOhost databases to search at one time. Recommended databases are: Academic Search Complete, AHFS Consumer Medication Information, Health Source--Consumer edition, Health Source--Nursing/Academic edition, MEDLINE, Military & Government Collection, APA PsycArticles, and Psychology and Behavioral Sciences collection.
- CredoSearch for your topic by keyword. Use the Mind Map to help narrow and refine your search.
- Films on DemandFilms On Demand is a Web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos online. Chosen from thousands of high-quality educational titles in multiple subject areas, the Master Academic Collection contains approximately 11,200 full-length videos / 166,000 video clips,
- US NewsstreamUS Newsstream provides current coverage from major national newspapers including: The New York Times (1980-present), The Wall Street Journal (1984-present), Washington Post (1987-present), Los Angeles Times (1985-present), The Christian Science Monitor (1988-present), The Atlanta Journal Constitution (2001-present), The Boston Globe (1980-present) and many regional publications from across the United States.