Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding books in the Library
When starting a research project, it is helpful to find background sources that will give you an overview of a topic. You can find strong foundational information in encyclopedias by searching in Credo Reference, an online encyclopedia database. Encyclopedias are considered Reference Sources. Your professor may not allow you to use an encyclopedia chapter as a resource in your paper; however, you can use the encyclopedia chapter to understand basic concepts, moving on to other books on the topic that you can use in your research paper.
Check out the Library Research: The Process for more help in starting your research paper.
Search the library catalog for print and online books. Type your keywords into the box below, for example developmental disabilities AND medication.
Finding articles in databases
Search for articles from periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals) in the following databases. From off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your Cougar Track username and password.
You may also use articles from Disability Studies Quarterly
The following databases include scholarly sources, videos, and newspaper articles to assist you in locating sources for this project.
A source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles that covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, literature, and many other subjects
ALL EBSCOhost databases
This link allows you to search multiple EBSCOhost databases at one time.
Credo Reference is an online reference collection. It contains over 800 online encyclopedias, subject dictionaries, biographical sources, and reference tools. Reference is the foundation of research. Credo Online Reference Service enhances the research experience by combining authoritative reference content with a one-stop exploratory search platform.
Films on Demand
Films On Demand is a Web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos online. Chosen from thousands of high-quality educational titles in multiple subject areas, the Master Academic Collection contains approximately 11,200 full-length videos / 166,000 video clips,
US Newsstream provides current coverage from major national newspapers including: The New York Times (1980-present), The Wall Street Journal (1984-present), Washington Post (1987-present), Los Angeles Times (1985-present), The Christian Science Monitor (1988-present), The Atlanta Journal Constitution (2001-present), The Boston Globe (1980-present) and many regional publications from across the United States.