Skip to main content

MLA Style Guide, 8th Edition: Book with Personal Author(s)

This LibGuide reflects the changes to MLA style as directed by the MLA Handbook, Eighth Edition

Additional Information

When citing an electronic source, the title of the eBook or database provider goes on line 3 of Container #2, and is written in italics. According to MLA Handbook, 8th ed., the permalink and the Accessed Date are optional. Check with your instructor to clarify if you need to include the permalink and the Accessed Date for eBooks from online databases available through Taft College Library.

Book with Personal Author(s)

Material Type In-text Citation Works Cited
Book with one author         (Brinkley 525)

Brinkley, Alan. The Unfinished Nation: A Concise History of the American People. 7th ed., McGraw Hill, 2014.

Book with two authors       (Wilson and Schlosser 67)                                        

Wilson, Charles, and Eric Schlosser. Chew on This: Everything You Don't Want to Know about Fast Food. Houghton Mifflin, 2007.‚Äč

Book with three or more authors

(James et al. 157-165)

James, Charles, et al. The Sociological History of People and Places. Magnolia Press, 2005.
Book with no author (Beowulf 16-31) Beowulf. Translated by Burton Raffel, Signet, 2008.

Electronic book (Internet, available to everyone)

(Wilde 83)

Wilde, Oscar. The Picture of Dorian Gray. 1890. Project Gutenberg, www.gutenberg.org/files/174/174-h/174-h.htm.

Electronic book from an online database (login required)

(Hardy 58-60)

Hardy, Thomas. Far From The Madding Crowd. The Floating Press, 2009. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost). permalink is optional

Part of a book from an online database (chapter, essay, piece) (Rosenfelt 427)    Porter, Carolyn. "Ann Beattie: The Art of the Missing." The Contemporary American Women Writers: Native Strategies, edited by William J. Scheick and Catherine Rainwater, UP of Kentucky, 2015, pp. 9-28. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost). permalink is optional
Electronic book (Read on an eReader device i.e. Nook, Kindle, etc.) (Austen 101)

Austen, Jane. Sense and Sensibility. Amazon Digital Services, 2012.